All posts by Steve Blease

Edition 143 of Steve Blease’s Heavy Elements is now available as a podcast.


Myrath – Other Side
Hillward – Long Way Down
Michael Romeo – Black
Shattered Skies – You Will Know My Name
Mask of Judas – Alive

Live at 11: Haken live at the Melkweg in Amsterdam, Thursday 13th April 2017

Cockroach King (live)
In Memoriam (live)
The Endless Knot (live)

Andromeda – The Words Unspoken
Threshold – Turn On Tune In

Album of the Week: Dreamscape – Everlight

Breathing Spaces
A Matter of Time Transforming

Sümer – End of Sense

Edition 142 of Steve Blease’s Heavy Elements is now available as a podcast.


Persefone – The Majestic of Gaia
Baroness – Chlorine & Wine
Burst – We Are Dust
Oranssi pazuzu – Lahja
Plini – The End Of Everything

Live at 11: Green Carnation live at Studio TVP Krzemionki, Kraków, Poland on 31st January 2004

Into Deep (live)
Writings On The Wall (live)
As Life Flows By (live)

Orphaned Land – The Sahara’s Storm (remastered)
Arkan – Beyond the Wall

Album of the Week: Voyager – V

It’s a Wonder
A Beautiful Mistake
Breaking Down

Caligula’s Horse – Songs for No One

Edition 152 of Sounds That Can Be Made is now available as a podcast!


Motherjane – Chasing the Sun (from Maktub)
Shakti – Face to Face (from Natural Elements)
Agam – Swans of Saraswathi (from The Inner Self Awakens)
Phenom – Unbound (from Unbound)
Fossils – Aro Ekbar (from Fossils)
Parvaaz – Khufiya Dastaan (from Khufiya Dastaan)
Coshish – Maya (from Firdous)
Param – Bhageshree (from Bhageshree)
Amogh Symphony – Decoded: Karnosiris (from The Quantum Hack Code)
Pinocchio’s Moment Of Clarity – Forgotten (from Forgotten)
Rainburn – Fragments (from Canvas of Silence)
Skyharbor – Guiding Lights (from Guiding Lights)
Thaikkudam Bridge – Navarasam (from Navarasam : An ennead)
Thermal and a Quarter – Paper Puli (from Plan B)
Antariksh – Aur (from Khoj)
Avail – Karukara (from Avail)
Mystique – Uskudar (from Melodies of the Orient)
A Mutual Question – Wheel of Life (from Eyes Everywhere)
Space Behind the Yellow Room – Teach Him To Dance (from Conversations that Determine a Life)
Yatin Srivastava Project – The Dream Plays In Reverse (from The Dream Plays In Reverse)
ShredxXx – Homuragama Ver2 (from ShredxXx EP)
Mute the Saint – The Fall of Sirius (from Mute the Saint)

Edition 141 of Steve Blease’s Heavy Elements is now available as a podcast.


Symphony X – Children Of A Faceless God
Redemption – Indulge in Color
Innosense – The Fall
To-Mera – Another World
Flor de Loto – Tempestad

Live at 11: Gojira live at Live at 11: Gojira live at the Brixton Academy, London, March 24th 2013

Flying Whales (live)
Oroborus (live)
The Heaviest Matter of the Universe (live)

Riverside – Driven To Destruction
Aeon Zen – Divinity

Album of the Week: Swallow the Sun – Songs From The North

Heartstrings Shattering
Pray for the Winds to Come
The Clouds Prepare for Battle

Thaikkudam Bridge – Shiva

Edition 151 of Sounds That Can Be Made is now available as a podcast!


Russia: Little Tragedies – The Sixth Sense (from The Sixth Sense)
v Saudi Arabia: Wasted Land – Anthem of Warriors (from Wasted Land)

Egypt: SimpleXity – Thin Air (from Click to Start)
v Uruguay: Drama – Madre Tierra (from Inspiraciòn)

Morocco: Chimiraz – Scream in the Sky (from Scream in the Sky)
v Iran: Mavara – Period Of Innocence (from Season Of Salvation)

Portugal: Moonspell – Awake (from Irreligious)
v Spain: Toundra – Kingston Falls (from Vortex)

France: Lazuli – Homo Sapiens (from Tant Que L’herbe Est Grasse)
v Australia: Voyager – This Gentle Earth (from Ghost Mile)

Argentina: Estratagema – Tres Hexágonos (from Canciones Muertas)
v Iceland: Sólstafir – Miðaftann (from Ótta)

Peru: Frágil – Alunado (from Alunado)
v Denmark: Under Byen – Hjertebarn (from Kyst)

Croatia: Aerodrom – Otkazani Let (from Hitovi i Legende)
v Nigeria: Fela Kuti – Unknown Soldier Part 1 (from Unknown Soldier)

Costa Rica: Time’s Forgotten – Days Like Eternity (from The Book of Lost Words)
v Serbia: Galija – Zločin i Kazna (from Mesto Pored Prozora)

Germany: Subsignal – Every Able Hand (from La Muerta)
v Mexico: Cast – Power and Outcome (from Power and Outcome)

Brazil: Angra – Holy Land (from Holy Land)
v Switzerland: Metamorphosis – Nobody’s No One (from The Turning Point)

Sweden: Pain of Salvation – Undertow (from Remedy Lane)
v South Korea: Superstring – Division (from Architecture)

Belgium: Fish On Friday – She Colours The Rainbow (from Godspeed)
v Panama: Equinox – El Color de la Sangre (from Spirits of Freedom)

Tunisia: Myrath – Nobody’s Lives (from Legacy)
v England: Mostly Autumn – Box of Tears (from Dressed in Voices)

Colombia: Altered Symmetry – Long Lost Love (from Prologue)
v Japan: Ars Nova – Fury (from The Goddess of Darkness)

Poland: Lunatic Soul – Under the Fragmented Sky (from Under the Fragmented Sky)
v Senegal: Youssou N’Dour – Pitche Mi (from Immigrés)


Edition 140 of Steve Blease’s Heavy Elements is now available as a podcast.


Pain of Salvation – Reasons
Awooga – Temporal
Leprous – Golden Prayers
COG – Moo
Acolyte – In This Life

Live at 11: Mastodon live at the Aragon Ballroom, Chicago, USA on Saturday 17th October 2009

Oblivion (live)
Ghost of Karelia (live)
Crack the Skye (live)

Conception – Under a Mourning Star
Savatage – Doesn’t Matter Anyway

Album of the Week: Opeth – Ghost Reveries

Ghost of Perdition
The Baying Of The Hounds

Amorphis – Message in the Amber

The Progzilla World Cup kicks off Monday at 19:30hrs (UTC+1) as 32 bands from the countries playing in Russia take each other on in the ultimate progressive music event!

Tune in at 7.30pm (UTC+1) to hear music from Russia, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Uruguay, Morocco, Iran, Portugal, Spain, France, Australia, Argentina, Iceland, Peru, Denmark, Croatia, Nigeria, Costa Rica, Serbia, Germany, Mexico, Brazil, Switzerland, Sweden, South Korea, Belgium, Panama, Tunisia, England, Colombia, Japan, Poland and Senegal, all on Progzilla Radio! or