Them Crooked Vultures

All posts tagged Them Crooked Vultures

THE PROGRESSIVE TRACKS SHOW #326  (Progressive Infinite Regress)

How do you depict the state of the world with music?

1. The DJ shuts up and lets the music do the talking.

2. The listeners make their own conclusions about what the music is saying to them (without being offended).

3. Everyone allows everyone else to have their own opinions.

4. Repeat.  Repeat.  Repeat…

Easy, right?  We’ll see…

And remember, you can access podcasts of any previous Progressive Tracks Show at: (there are over 160 now!).


  • Tribal Tech – “The Big Wave” from Illicit on Bluemoon Recordings (1992)
  • Barry Cleveland – “Warning” from Hologramatron on MoonJune Records (2010)
  • Steve Howe – “Turbulence” from Turbulence on Relativity (1991)
  • Steven Wilson – “Don’t Hate Me” from 4-1/2 on Kscope (2015)
  • Brand X – “Hate Zone” from Morrocan Roll on Charisma (1977)
  • Black Sabbath – “Killing Yourself to Live” from Sabbath Bloody Sabbath on Warner Brothers (1973)
  • Them Crooked Vultures – “Gunman” from Them Crooked Vultures on Interscope Records (2009)
  • Tin Men and the Telephone – “Autonomous Weapons” from World Domination Part One: Furie on Roem Records (2018)
  • October Equus – “Trapped in the Sea Ice” from Permafrost on OctoberXart Records (2013)
  • Whalephant – “System of Behavior” from System of Behavior – Single on Independent (2015)
  • Birdsongs of the Mesozoic – “The Study of Unintended Consequences” from Petrophonics on Cuneiform (2000)
  • AKKU Quintet – “Made in China” from Depart on 7dMedia (2019)
  • Ut Gret – “Infinite Regress” from Radical Symmetry on Independent (2011)

If you have comments or suggestions for show topics/ music (always welcome), feel free to contact me any time via email:

Ahh… the things we think.  The weird ways our minds work.

Time for some tunes about the mind.  Whose mind?  Somebody’s mind.  Maybe it’s yours?  Maybe it’s mine?

The days are getting shorter, and darkness is the best environment to put on some headphones and immerse yourself in some quality, heady, progressive rock.

Remember, you can stream/download this, and any of the 117 previous editions of The Progressive Tracks Show broadcast on Progzilla Radio, any time you want at:

– Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

Email:  (Comments are always welcome)


  • Devo – “Too Much Paranoias” from Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo! (Deluxe Version) [Remastered] on Warner Bros.
  • Blushing Satellite – “Who Am I?” from The Union on Blushing Satellite
  • The Pentangle – “In Your Mind” from Sweet Child on Transatlantic Records
  • Diablo Swing Orchestra – “Interruption” from Pacifisticuffs on Candlelight (CDL)
  • Human Ottoman – “Y D K W H” from Farang on Human Ottoman
  • sElf – “Lost My Senses” from Subliminal Plastic Motives on Fat Possum
  • Peter Gabriel – “No Self Control” from 3 (Melt) on Virgin
  • Sleepytime Gorilla Museum – “The Widening Eye” from In Glorious Times on The End Records
  • Joe Satriani – “Mind Storm” from Strange Beautiful Music on Epic
  • Cheer-Accident – “The Mind-Body Experience” from Fades on Skin Graft Records
  • Them Crooked Vultures – “Mind Eraser, No Chaser” from Them Crooked Vultures on dgc
  • The People Now – “Maniac” from One by One – EP on The People Now
  • The Box  – “Un Impénétrable Mystère” from Le Horla on Les Disques Passeport
  • Galliard – “Open Your Mind” from New Dawn on Lake Erie Records
  • Barock Project – “Secret Therapy” from Detachment on Artalia
  • Resurrecting Id – “Renewal” from Resurrecting Id on Independent
  • Riverside – “The Depths of Self Delusion” from Shrine of New Generation Slaves on Inside Out Music
  • Affinity – “United States of Mind” from Affinity on Angel Air Records
  • Jethro Tull – “Nursie (2011 Remaster)” from Aqualung (40th Anniversary Edition) on Chrysalis

If you have comments (always welcome), or suggestions for show topics/music, feel free to contact me anytime via email:

But first… enjoy the show!

Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

P.S.  You can skip looking for these posts each week by subscribing to the podcast below!