Moonlit Sailor

All posts tagged Moonlit Sailor

The Progressive Tracks Show #344 (Progmas 2019)​

It’s that time again…time for Progmas!

What’s Progmas? Well, it’s certainly not XMAS, but it does have meaning.

Join in the celebration and figure it out for yourself.


  • Lost Kite – “Winter’s Presage” from Remains on Independent (2016)
  • The Hypersonic Factor – “Silhouettes Braced For Winter” from Inventions of Diffusion on Independent (2018)
  • Mannheim Steamroller – “Catching Snowflakes On Your Tongue” from Christmas Song on American Gramaphone Records (2007 )
  • Moonlit Sailor – “Fresh Snow” from So Close To Life on Deep Elm Records  (2009)
  • Oaksenham – “Snow” from Upon All The Living And The Dead on Independent (2018)
  • Comus – “Winter Is A Coloured Bird” from First Utterance on Rock Fever (1971)
  • Tiger Moth Tales – “Noel Nouvelet (Bonus Studio Track)” from Mad Mothsters Tea Party Download on Independent (2017)
  • Urban Nomad – “Living in Exile (i. A Young Winter; ii. The Place of Dead Roads; iii. The Eye of Dawn)” on Urban Nomad on Independent (2012)
  • Peculate – “Oratio Pre Aris et Focis” from There Are No Angels on Independent (2015)
  • Collage – “The Winter Song” from Safe on Ars Mundi (1995)
  • Ólafur Arnalds – “For Now I Am Winter (feat. Arnor Dan)” from For Now I Am Winter on Mercury Classics  (2013)
  • Evan Hause – “Winter Flower” from Plastic Island Pentecost on Independent (2018)
  • Soup – “The Boy And The Snow” from Remedies on Crispin Glover Records (2017)
  • Celluloid Winter – “The Way Things Were” from Celluloid Winter EP on Independent (2013)
  • Heather Findlay Quartet – “The Snows They Melt The Soonest” from Horse Feathers on Independent (2019)

If you have comments or suggestions for show topics/ music (always welcome), feel free to contact me any time via email:

And remember, you can access podcasts of any previous Progressive Tracks Show at: (there are over 180 podcasts now!).

Most importantly, SUBSCRIBE TO THE PODCAST below, so you’ll have it delivered to your fingertips weekly! ˅˅˅˅˅˅˅˅

Progressive Tracks Show #271 (Summer!), originally broadcast on Saturday, July 21, 2018, is now available to download or listen to anytime you desire.

Yep, the sun and warm weather’s finally hit… and after sprucing things up a bit here, I’m feelin’ pretty good about the ol’ ProgTracks settlement.  It’s Summer… and the livin’ is easy, eh?

This week we’ll celebrate with some nostalgic tuneage appropriate to the Summer season.  So take time to relax, put on some headphones, and immerse yourself in some quality progressive rock.  It may well be the best part of your day.   BYOB!

Remember, you can access any previous Progressive Tracks Show at: (there are well over 100 now!).

– Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

Email:  (Comments are always welcome)



  • Tiger Moth Tales – “Summer” from Cocoon on White Knight
  • Steve Dinsdale – “Hit Of Summer” from Light & Dark on Independent
  • Battles – “Summer Simmer” from La Di Da Di on Warp Records
  • Pink Floyd – “Summer ’68” from Atom Heart Mother on Columbia/Legacy
  • It’s a Beautiful Day – “Hot Summer Day” from It’s a Beautiful Day on Columbia
  • The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “Long Hot Summer Night” from Electric Ladyland on Legacy Recordings
  • Moonlit Sailor – “Summer Solstice” from Colors In Stereo on Deep Elm
  • Syd Arthur – “Ode to the Summer” from On an On on Down Chorus Recording Company LLP
  • Strangefish – “Summer Slips Away” from The Spotlight Effect on Independent
  • Time Columns – “Halcyon Days” from Mana on Oxide Tones, Subsuburban
  • Ocean Mind – “Breakloose in the Summer” from Underwater on Oceanmindmusic
  • Amplifier – “One Great Summer” from Amplifier on Rockosmos
  • Different Light – “A St. Martin’s Summer” from The Burden of Paradise on Independent
  • Jethro Tull – “Summerday Sands” from Minstrel in the Gallery (40th Anniversary Edition) on Chrysalis
  • Flutatious – “Lazy Summer Daze” from Festival on Chrysalis
  • Balloon Astronomy – “Summer Afternoon” from Balloon Astronomy on Independent
  • Electric Light Orchestra – “One Summer Dream” from Face the Music  on Epic

If you have comments (always welcome), or suggestions for show topics/music, feel free to contact me anytime via email:

But first… enjoy the show!

Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

P.S.  You can skip looking for these posts each week by subscribing to the podcast below!

Progressive Tracks Show #252 (A Matter Of Priorities), originally broadcast on Saturday, March 10, 2018, is now available to download or listen to anytime you desire.

Warning… Opinions Ahead:  We in the United States must get our priorities in order, to solve a most critical and contentious problem.  An unexpected interest group has stepped up to try to force solutions… but progress has been slow so far, and they’ll need our help if they are to succeed.  And their success is paramount to our future.

Who?  What?  C’mon, Mike, what the heck are you talking about?

Nope.  You’re going to have to tune in this week to hear another theme show centered around this topic.  Just know that I don’t offer any solutions… I simply play Prog.     ;o)

NOTE:  This podcast is extended a bit from what I had time to play on the air… but I wanted you to hear it.  Enjoy the additional song (#2 in the playlist)!


  • The Nice – “America (2nd Amendment) [Original]” from Ars Longa Vita Brevis on Charly Records
  •  Archive – “Bullets” from Controlling Crowds (Parts I-III) on Hangman Records
  • Adrian Belew – “Gunman” from Young Lions on Atlantic
  • Adam Holzman – “Truth Decay” from Truth Decay on Big Fun Productions
  • David Baerwald – “The Got No Shotgun Hydrahead Octopus Blues” from Triage on A&M
  • The Faint – “A Battle Hymn for Children” from Fasciinatiion on Saddle Creek
  • Children in Paradise – “The Battle” from Esyllt on Keltia Musique
  • Sproingg – “No Place For Children” from Sproingg on Independent
  • Archive – “Funeral” from Controlling Crowds (Parts I-III) on Hangman Records
  • Darrell Treece-Birch – “Requiem Pre Caris” from No More Time on Melodic Revolution Records
  • Satellite – “Children” from A Street Between Sunrise and Sunset on Metal Mind Productions
  • Horizontal Ascension – “What Do We Do Now” from Horizontal Ascension on Mindmovie Music Service
  • Once And Future Band – “Standing In The Wake Of Violence” from Once And Future Band on Castle Face Records
  • Moonlit Sailor – “Once We Were Children” from A Footprint Of Feelings on Deep Elm Records
  • Yes – “Children Of Light” from  Keys To Ascension 2 on Image Entertainment
  • Spiral Key – “Reason Revolution” from An Error In Judgment on Pride & Joy Music

If you have comments (always welcome), or suggestions for show topics/music, feel free to contact me anytime via email:

But first… enjoy the show!

Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack