All posts tagged Kansas

This week’s Prog-Watch is a variety program with a Guest DJ Feature! I’ll be spinning music from Kansas, O.A.K. (Oscillazioni Alchemico Kreative), Dyble-Longdon, The Hawkwind Light Orchestra, The Broken Bridges, and Tony Lowe’s ESP Project, and mixing in selections from our Guest DJ, Mr. Keith McCarthy of Newnham, England! Keith has selected some fabulous stuff from Fleetwood Mac, John Martyn, Anathema, Druid, and Camel! I hope you will come along for the ride!


740: Variety with a Guest DJ Feature


On this week’s Prog-Watch: brand new music from Kansas, Nick D’Virgilio, Turdetans, Blood Brothers, Hollow Water, and Frost*, plus great stuff from Farehaven, Michele Conta, and Man Till God! In addition, Dr. Rob Fisher returns for an in depth look at City Burials, the brand new album by Katatonia, on Progressive Discoveries!

725: Variety + Katatonia on Progressive Discoveries


THE PROGRESSIVE TRACKS SHOW #363 (The Show of Many Themes)

I’m a bit scattered this week and could not decide on a theme… so there are many!  New music… classic music, Golden Tracks feature… a tribute… and a theme.

Hopefully it all comes together.


  • Jonathan Hultén– “…And the Pillars Tremble” from The Dark Night of the Soul on Reflections Records (2017)
  • JPL – “Asiatic Grip” from Bienvenue sur la terre on Quadrifonic (2002)
  • Jethro Tull – “Play in Time” from Benefit on Chrysalis (1970)
  • Jethro Tull – “Inside” from Benefit on Chrysalis (1970)
  • Jack O’ The Clock – “The Wrong Child” on Outsider Songs on Independent (2015)
  • Child Abuse – “Child Support” from Imaginary Enemy on SkinGraft Records (2019)
  • Kansas – “Child of Innocence” from Masque on Kirschner (1975)
  • Discus – “System Manipulation” from …tot Licht! on Intrepid Music (2003)
  • Jethro Tull – “With You There To Help Me” from Benefit on Chrysalis (1970)
  • Jethro Tull – “Alive and Well and Living In” from Benefit on Chrysalis (1970)
  • Jonathan Hultén – “Nightly Sun” from The Dark Night of the Soul on Reflections Records (2017)
  • Joe Deninzon & Stratospheerius – “Frame by Frame” from Frame by Frame – single on Melodic Revolution Records (2020)
  • Jethro Tull – “Just Trying To Be” from Benefit on Chrysalis (1970)
  • Discus – “Anne” from …tot Licht! on Intrepid Music (2003)

If you have comments or suggestions for show topics/ music (always welcome), feel free to contact me any time via email:  ProgTracks@KPTZ.org

And remember, you can access podcasts of any previous Progressive Tracks Show at: http://www.progzilla.com/?s=progressive+tracks (there are over 200 podcasts now!).

Most importantly, SUBSCRIBE TO THE PODCAST below, so you’ll have it delivered to your fingertips weekly! ˅˅˅˅˅˅˅˅




This week’s Prog-Watch is an entire show dedicated to prog rock classic tracks! I’m spinning tunes by Genesis, Frank Zappa and the Mothers of Invention, King Crimson, Kansas, The Alan Parson Project, Yes, Jethro Tull, The Electric Light Orchestra, Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, and Caravan! Our friend and resident reviewer, Dr. Rob Fisher, is also doing a Progressive Discoveries segment on a classic album… Breathless by Camel! Come along as Prog-Watch goes “old school”!

648: Classix, Vol. 1



Variety is the spice of life, so this week’s Prog-Watch is a diverse collection of great progressive rock to enliven your world! We’ll hear music from The Dear Hunter, ESP 2.0, Mostly Autumn, Onségen Ensemble, Robert Plant, Ange, Visual Cliff, Coast, 3RDegree, Kansas, Lines In The Sky, IQ, and Bomber Goggles!

523: Variety


The Progressive Tracks Show #237 (The Unvarnished Thanksgiving), originally broadcast on Friday, November 24, 2017, is now available to download or listen to anytime you desire.

var·nish /ˈvärniSH/

verb   disguise or gloss over (a fact).  

This week we Americans celebrate Thanksgiving, a truly wonderful holiday spent with family and friends.  But how today’s Americans view the underpinnings of this day (the relationship between European-American settlers and Native Americans) has been highly ‘varnished’ over time.

This week’s Progressive Tracks Show pays musical tribute to the Native Americans, while examining the reality of their plight.


  • The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra – “The Theme From The Big Valley” from 100 Greatest Western Themes on Silva Screen Records
  • The Fierce and The Dead – “Chief” from Spooky Action on Bad Elephant Music
  • Barclay James Harvest – “Medicine Man” from Baby James Harvest (Bonus Tracks Edition) on Cherry Red Records
  • Kevin Gilbert – “Indian Burn” from Kaviar: The Kaviar Sessions on The Estate of Kevin Gilbert
  • Kansas – “Cheyenne Anthem” from Leftoverture on CBS
  • John Arch – “Cheyenne” from Twist of Fate EP on Metal Blade Records
  • Solstice – “Cheyenne” from Silent Dance – The Definitive Edition on Cherry Red Records
  • Elton John – “Indian Sunset” from Madmen Across The Water on UNI
  • Iluvatar – “Indian Rain” from  A Story Two Days Wide on Kinesis
  • Zombi – “Spirit Warrior” from Spirit Animal on Relapse Records
  • Primus – “Wounded Knee” from Pork Soda on Interscope Records

If you have comments (always welcome), or suggestions for show topics/music, feel free to contact me anytime via email:  ProgTracks@KPTZ.org

But first… enjoy the show!

Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

Audio Player

Progressive Tracks Show #204 (4-3-2017) The Big Event

Some things are just bigger than… The Progressive Tracks Show.  

Nah!  Just kidding!   ;o)

The Progressive Tracks Show #204 (The Big Event), originally broadcast on Friday March 31, 2017, is now available to download or listen to any time you desire.


  • It’s a Beautiful Day “Good Lovin’” from Marrying Maiden on Classic Music Vault
  • Marriages “Part the Dark Again” from Kitsune – EP on Sargent House
  • The Aaron English Band “The Marriage of the Sun and the Moon” from The Marriage of the Sun and the Moon on Independent
  • Kansas “It Takes a Woman’s Love (To Make a Man)” from Masque (Bonus Track Version) on Epic/Legacy
  • Monkey Bat “Springtime Love” from Springtime Love on Independent
  • David Bowie “Be My Wife” from Low on Virgin
  • Sinéad O’Connor “Feel So Different” from I Do Not Want What I Haven’t Got on EMI Catalogue
  • Soul Asylum “April Fool” from Grave Dancers Union on Columbia
  • The Moody Blues “To Share Our Love” from On The Threshold Of A Dream on UMC (Universal Music Catalogue)
  • David Gilmour “Love On The Air” from About Face on Columbia
  • Genesis – “Let Us Now Make Love (BBC Nightride 1970)” from Archive #1 (1967-1975) on Virgin Catalogue
  • Peter Gabriel – “The Book Of Love (Remix)” from Scratch My Back (Limited Edition) on Real World Records
  • Yes – “True Love” from Talk on Atlantic
  • Trinity & Triage – “We Won’t Say Goodbye” from Trinity & Triage on Independent
  • Centrozoon – “The Wedding” from Fool of Music (Compilation) on Independent
  • The Decemberists – “Sons and Daughters” from The Crane Wife
  • Gordon Giltrap and Paul Ward – “April Love” from The Last of England on Angel Air Records

If you have comments (always welcome), or suggestions for show topics/music, feel free to contact me anytime via email:  ProgTracks@KPTZ.org

But first… enjoy the show!

Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

PW 404If you missed this week’s Prog-Watch you can listen HERE

This week’s show is a variety program, with music from Ian Anderson, Steven Wilson, Kansas, Erik Norlander, Haken, Odyssice, Jadis, Karibow, Yuka & Chronoship, and Stackridge! Plus, another edition of Progressive Discoveries with Rob Fisher, from the latest album by Katatonia!