All posts tagged Devo

Progressive Tracks Show #368 (The Whole World’s Watching…)

Indeed, the whole world IS watching the United States… to see what becomes of us as a country.

This week we’ll explore historical and current issues through the power of music.

  • Roxy Music – “The Pride and the Pain” from The Thrill of it All on EG Records (1995)
  • The Doors – “Peace Frog” from Morrison Hotel on Rhino/Elektra (1970)
  • Chicago Transit Authority – “Prologue, August 29, 1968” from Chicago Transit Authority on Chicago Records (1969)
  • Chicago Transit Authority – “Someday (August 29, 1968)” from Chicago Transit Authority on Chicago Records (1969)
  • Rage Against The Machine – “Killing In The Name” from Rage Against The Machine on Epic Associated (1992)
  • Tohpati Bertiga – “Riot” from Riot on Tohpati Music (2019)
  • Tribal Tech – “Aftermath” from Illicit on Mesa/Bluemoon Recordings (1992)
  • Whalephant – “System of Behavior” from System of Behavior – Single on Independent (2015)
  • Mike Kershaw – “The Fear Quartet, Pt. III:  All That Matters is the Fear” from Arms Open Wide on Bad Elephant Music (2018)
  • Herd of Instinct – “Brutality of Fact” from Conjure on Firepool Records (2013)
  • Phideaux – “The Order of Protection (Two)” from Infernal on Bloodfish Music (2018)
  • The Muffins – “Hobart Got Burned” from Open City on Cuneiform Records (2011)
  • Perfect Beings – “The Golden Arc – Turn The World Off” from Vier on InsideOutMusic (2018)
  • Devo – “Later is Now” from Something for Everybody on Warner Records (2010)
  • Freak Kitchen – “We’ve Heard It All Before” from Freak Kitchen on Thunderstruck Productions (1998)
  • Angelo Badalamente – “Police” from Lost Highway Soundtrack on Interscope Records (1996)
  • Chevelle – “The Clincher” from This Kind Of Thinking (Could Do Us In) on Epic (2004)
  • Cheer-Accident – “Humanizing The Distance” from Fear Draws Misfortune on Cuneiform Records (2009)
  • Alco Frisbass – “Pas A Pas (Step By Step)” from Alco Frisbass on AltrOck Productions (2015)
  • Six O’Matic – “Vote For Pedro” from A Plague of Wealth on Independent  (2018)

If you have comments or suggestions for show topics/ music (always welcome), feel free to contact me any time via email:

And remember, you can access podcasts of any previous Progressive Tracks Show at: (there are over 200 podcasts now!).

Most importantly, SUBSCRIBE TO THE PODCAST below, so you’ll have it delivered to your fingertips weekly! ˅˅˅˅˅˅˅˅

Ahh… the things we think.  The weird ways our minds work.

Time for some tunes about the mind.  Whose mind?  Somebody’s mind.  Maybe it’s yours?  Maybe it’s mine?

The days are getting shorter, and darkness is the best environment to put on some headphones and immerse yourself in some quality, heady, progressive rock.

Remember, you can stream/download this, and any of the 117 previous editions of The Progressive Tracks Show broadcast on Progzilla Radio, any time you want at:

– Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

Email:  (Comments are always welcome)


  • Devo – “Too Much Paranoias” from Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo! (Deluxe Version) [Remastered] on Warner Bros.
  • Blushing Satellite – “Who Am I?” from The Union on Blushing Satellite
  • The Pentangle – “In Your Mind” from Sweet Child on Transatlantic Records
  • Diablo Swing Orchestra – “Interruption” from Pacifisticuffs on Candlelight (CDL)
  • Human Ottoman – “Y D K W H” from Farang on Human Ottoman
  • sElf – “Lost My Senses” from Subliminal Plastic Motives on Fat Possum
  • Peter Gabriel – “No Self Control” from 3 (Melt) on Virgin
  • Sleepytime Gorilla Museum – “The Widening Eye” from In Glorious Times on The End Records
  • Joe Satriani – “Mind Storm” from Strange Beautiful Music on Epic
  • Cheer-Accident – “The Mind-Body Experience” from Fades on Skin Graft Records
  • Them Crooked Vultures – “Mind Eraser, No Chaser” from Them Crooked Vultures on dgc
  • The People Now – “Maniac” from One by One – EP on The People Now
  • The Box  – “Un Impénétrable Mystère” from Le Horla on Les Disques Passeport
  • Galliard – “Open Your Mind” from New Dawn on Lake Erie Records
  • Barock Project – “Secret Therapy” from Detachment on Artalia
  • Resurrecting Id – “Renewal” from Resurrecting Id on Independent
  • Riverside – “The Depths of Self Delusion” from Shrine of New Generation Slaves on Inside Out Music
  • Affinity – “United States of Mind” from Affinity on Angel Air Records
  • Jethro Tull – “Nursie (2011 Remaster)” from Aqualung (40th Anniversary Edition) on Chrysalis

If you have comments (always welcome), or suggestions for show topics/music, feel free to contact me anytime via email:

But first… enjoy the show!

Mike “ProgTracks” Pollack

P.S.  You can skip looking for these posts each week by subscribing to the podcast below!