All posts for the month April, 2016

I’m delighted to announce that the podcast for edition 145 of Live From Progzilla Towers is now available.

In this edition we heard the following music:

  1. Prince – Let’s Go Crazy (Movie Mix)
  2. Paul Bremner – The Witness
  3. Krokofant – Sail Ahead
  4. Port Noir – Onyx
  5. Thrilos – Strange Images
  6. Einsturzende Neubauten – Ein Seltener Vogel
  7. Messenger – Oracles Of War
  8. Steve Howe – Nether Street
  9. Prince – I’m Yours
  10. Prince – Alexa De Paris (Extended Version)
  11. The Strawberry Republic – R.L.Z.T.N
  12. Andy Jackson – The Gyre
  13. Hawkwind – All Hail The Machine
  14. Hawkwind – The Machine
  15. Suspensión Solar – Sirio B
  16. Porcupine Tree – Arriving Somewhere But Not Here
  17. Stu Nicholson – Willow Way
  18. Prince – Purple Rain

iTunes/iPod users*: Just search for ‘Progzilla’ or subscribe to:


This news story was originally published here:

The most dangerous power trio of the Brazilian progressive rock scene is back! Joceir Bertoni (vocal/guitar), Ricardo Fanucchi (bass) and Bruno Pamplona (drums/vocal), collectively known as Imagery, retook the recordings of its new studio album at Play Rec Pause Studios in Londrina/Brazil.

Still untitled, this will be the second Imagery’s album, successor of the highly acclaimed “The Inner Journey”, that was nominated as one of the “Best Brazilian Metal Albums from 2012” by Dynamite Magazine.

To give a taste of what is to come, the trio had already launched the single “Blinded Nation” and now presents a new one: “People Say”.

[embedded content]

“This song was created from an intricate guitar riff”, says vocalist and guitarist Joceir Bertoni. “Although the tense sonority, this song is an example of the democracy that exists in Imagery, once I started to write it by myself and in the end it had a part of the lyric written and sung by Bruno Pamplona, besides the arrangements done by our former keyboardist, Henrique Loureiro”.

“People Say”, as the previous single, “Blinded Nation”, and the entire new album, has on production the signature of the respected Julio Anizelli (Mamaquilla, Terra Celta), with whom the group worked on the debut album.

This news story was originally published here:

The organisation of Progpower Europe have just confirmed the signing of Bulgarian post prog metal band Smallman.

Smallman is a Bulgarian band creating dark, experimental, ambient metal, influenced by the “Balkans” folklore. The bands identity comes from the Bulgarian native instruments -“gaida” and “kaval”. They bring a hypnotic atmosphere to balance the deep vocals, aggressive guitar riffs and bass lines, and outlined rhythms.

The band is formed in 2001 in the foot of the “Rhodope” mountain (area between Bulgaria, Greece and Turkey) which is one of the main inspirations for their work. Smallman held the same members for the past 11 years, without making a single change. With 3 self-released albums, the band stands as one of the most influential underground bands in Bulgaria. Smallman participated in major Balkan events including “Spirit of Burgas”, Bulgaria and “Best’Fest” in Romania. It toured Eastern-Europe in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016 when they visited Serbia, Romania, Greece, Slovenia, Hungary and Austria.

In early 2016, the band released music for a dark short animated film – “The Blood” – by the Bulgarian director Velislava Gospodinova. Its strong appeal to society against terror, war and violence won several awards from international film festivals.